Film/TV Scoring

The Section Quartet combines decades of formal classical training, a love of rock music, and creativity in the recording process to create a unique sound for film & tv scores.

Expanding on the acoustic sound of string instruments, The Section Quartet uses extended performance and recording techniques, and effects processing not typically applied to string instruments, that result in a human, organic sound with a modern edge.

Debuting as film composers with Drew Barrymore's directorial debut, WHIP IT, the original score was written and performed by The Section Quartet as a collaborative band effort, featuring acoustic and processed strings, piano and percussion.  "The Road to Austin" appears as the closing track on the WHIP IT soundtrack album. alongside songs from Peaches, The Ramones and Jens Lekman.